Jabbawockeez – America’s Best Dance Crew – Step Up 2 Incredible Dancers

The Jabbawockeez (stylized as JabbaWockeeZ) is associate degree yank hip-hop dance crew, best notable for being the winners of the primary season of America’s Best Dance Crew in 2008. They were at first shaped by members Kevin “KB” Brewer, Phil “Swagger Boy” Tayag, & Joe “Punkee” Larot beneath the name “3 Muskee”. By 2004, their members enclosed mount “B-Tek” Chung, Chris “Cristyle” Gatdula, Rynan “Kid Rainen” Paguio, and Jeff “Phi” Nguyen. Tony “Transformer” Tran joined the crew in 2013. The Jabbawockeez don’t have a gaggle leader; choreography for his or her performances, additionally as music and style selections, is created as a collective unit.


Jabbawockeez - Step Up 2 Incredible Dancers - danceserve

Early Career

Phil “Swagger Boy” Tayag, Kevin “KB” Brewer, Joe “Punkee” Larot began performing arts as a trio referred to as “Three Muskee” in Sacramento, American state whereas sporting white masks and gloves. The mask and glove motif was adopted as a tribute to the Nineteen Seventies San Francisco strutting crew Medea Sirkas. urban center “Gee One” Edward Kendall and ruttish “DJ want One” Bernal was each member of the Mind Tricks dance crew World Health Organization were active within the San Francisco Bay space. each the Mind Tricks dance crew and therefore the 3 Muskee were friends and associates with one another. Tayag, Brewer, and Larot all later affected to the point of entry space, and what began as a trial to begin a Southern American state chapter of the Mind Tricks crew later evolved into Jabbawockeez.
Established in 2003 in point of entry, California, The Jabbawockeez is that the production of the “Three Musky” World Health Organization needed to showcase race dance. The Jabbawockeez, coined by Joe Larot, was impressed by the fantastical monster from the Charles Dodgson nonsense literary composition bank. The white masks and gloves from Phil, Kevin, and Joe’s performances as 3 fragrant were adopted because the visual signature of the cluster. In point of entry, through Gary’s connections, the Jabbawockeez value-added b-boys Rynan “Kid Rainen” Paguio and Chris “Cristyle” Gatdula to the cluster. the first seven-member iteration of the Jabbawockeez began performing arts as a bunch in 2004. This lineup consisted of an urban center, Randy, Phil, Kevin, Joe, Ryan, and Chris.

The Jabbawockeez rounded out their numbers with further members, transfer their total to eleven. Phoenix native Jeff “Phi” Nguyen had met Rynan Paguio at varied l. a. space additions and performances and earned a spot within the Jabbawockeez in 2004 by battling Kevin Brewer. The Jabbawockeez additionally brought Kaba trendy alumna mountain “B-Tek” Chung and b-boys Eddie “Eddiestyles” Gutierrez and Saso “Saso Fresh” poet into the fold. Stylistically, the Jabbawockeez form of dance options associate eclectic mixture of varied urban designs, primarily pop & b-boying, in conjunction with a careful temporal relation to self-created instrumentals that one member dubs “Beat-Kune-Do” (a play on the word “Jeet Kune Do”, a martial arts vogue created by Bruce Lee). In 2007, the Jabbawockeez appeared on the second season of America’s Got Talent. performing arts with 9 members, the cluster was eliminated within the city callbacks episode. In 2008, they auditioned and were accepted onto the primary season of America’s Best Dance Crew. and a few requests additionally embody of Mayhem, Tooboi and Philani Mangezi.

America’s Best Dance Crew – Talent Show

The Jabbawockeez auditioned as a seven-member contingent for the primary season of America’s Best Dance Crew (ABDC), owing to crewman limits obligatory by the show. Originally, the ABDC cluster was speculated to contains metropolis Kendell, Phil Tayag, Kevin Brewer, Joe Larot, Rynan Paguio, Chris Gatdula, and alphabetic character Nguyen; but, once metropolis died that year, and Joe suffered a knee injury throughout the audition rounds, the cluster selected mount Chung to interchange Joe on the show and left Gary’s spot vacant, continuing with six members. They eventually went on to become the winners of the show. The win attained the crew $100,000 (USD).

Join our community of dance to know everything and discuss everything about your favorite styles. Register yourself on DanceServe.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *